In This Section


Doug Hutton
Director, Marketing


ACCC Honors First Class of Fellows with F.A.C.C.C. Designation

Washington, DC—The Association of Community Cancer Centers (ACCC) conferred its first class of Fellows of ACCC (F.A.C.C.C.) at its 48th Annual Meeting and Cancer Center Business Summit held in Washington DC, March 1-4, 2022.

The Fellows program was established to honor individuals for their exceptional volunteer service, leadership, and commitment to ACCC and its mission to be the leading education and advocacy organization for the cancer care community.

Recipients of the F.A.C.C.C. designation will be recognized as the association's most active and engaged volunteers—those who have put in countless hours and energy in service to ACCC and its multidisciplinary membership.

The inaugural class of Fellows is made up of ACCC's Past Presidents, as they have demonstrated dedication and leadership at the highest level.

Ten past presidents attended the meeting and were honored during the House of Delegates, ACCC’s annual business meeting. This includes:

  • Al B. Benson, III, MD, FACP, FACCC, ACCC President 2010 – 2011
  • Edward L. Braud, MD, FACCC, ACCC President 2002 – 2003 
  • Jennie R. Crews, MD, MMM, FACP, FACCC, ACCC President 2016 - 2017 
  • Steven L. D'Amato, BScPharm, FACCC, ACCC President 2015 - 2016 
  • Becky L. DeKay, MBA, FACCC, ACCC President 2014 - 2015 
  • Thomas A. Gallo, MS, MDA, FACCC, ACCC President 2018 - 2019 
  • Randall A. Oyer, MD, FACCC, ACCC President 2020 - 2021
  • Mark S. Soberman, MD, MBA, FACS, FACCC, ACCC President, 2017 – 2018
  • Virginia T. Vaitones, MSW, OSW-C, FACCC, ACCC President 2013 - 2014
  • James L. Wade, III, MD, FACP, FACCC, ACCC President 1997 - 1998

Other F.A.C.C.C. recipients include:

  • Ernest R. Anderson, Jr., MS, RPh, FACCC, ACCC President 2008 – 2009 
  • Albert B. Einstein, Jr., MD, FACP, FACCC, ACCC President 1993 – 1994 
  • John E. Feldmann, MD, FACP, FACCC, ACCC President 1996 – 1997 
  • George Kovach, MD, FACCC, ACCC President 2012 - 2013
  • Luana R. Lamkin, RN, MPH, FACCC, ACCC President 2009 – 2010 
  • Ali McBride, PharmD, MS, BCOP, FACCC, ACCC President 2019 - 2020
  • Cary A. Presant, MD, FACP, FACCC, ACCC President 2003 – 2004 
  • Richard B. Reiling, MD, FACS, FACCC, ACCC President 2007 – 2008
  • Thomas L. Whittaker, MD, FACP, FACCC, ACCC President 2011 – 2012

Future recipients will be awarded the F.A.C.C.C. designation based on their engagement with ACCC. A point system was created to track qualifying activities, such as serving on the ACCC Board of Trustees, an ACCC committee or program advisory board, serving as a primary contact to a Cancer Program Member, participating in a podcast or writing an article for Oncology Issues, ACCC’s official journal, or speaking at an ACCC meeting. A new class of Fellows of ACCC will be conferred the lifetime F.A.C.C.C. status and recognized among their peers annually at the House of Delegates meeting during the ACCC Annual Meeting & Cancer Center Business Summit.

About the Association of Cancer Care Centers

The Association of Cancer Care Centers (ACCC) is the leading education and advocacy organization for the cancer care community. Founded in 1974, ACCC is a powerful network of 40,000 multidisciplinary practitioners from 2,100 hospitals and practices nationwide. As advances in cancer screening and diagnosis, treatment options, and care delivery models continue to evolve - so has ACCC - adapting its resources to meet the changing needs of the entire oncology care team. For more information, visit Follow us on social media; read our blog, ACCCBuzz; tune in to our CANCER BUZZ podcast; and view our CANCER BUZZ TV channel.