Past Winners

icon-star-20x20ACCC Innovator Awards

Since 2011, ACCC Innovator Awards honor Cancer Program Members for their ingenuity and pioneering achievements in oncology. Innovations advance the goals of improving access, quality, and value in cancer care delivery.
icon-star-20x20Annual Achievement Award

The Annual Achievement Award has been conferred since 1980 to distinguished individuals or organizations in a wide variety of fields, who have reflected values of community cancer care through their outstanding contributions.
2022 Lola A. Fashoyin-Aje, MD, MPH
2021 Lori J. Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO
2020 Lawrence N. Shulman, MD, MACP, FASCO
2019 Arti Hurria, MD, FASCO

Otis Webb Brawley, MD, MACP

2017 Barbara L. McAneny, MD, FASCO, MACP
2016 Cancer Support Community, Washington, DC
2014 Paula Kim
2013 Jimmie C. Holland, MD
2011 John E. Niederhuber, MD
2010 Barbara Hoffman, JD
2009 Susan Leigh, RN, BSN
2008 Judah Folkman, MD
2007 Harmon J. Eyre, MD
2006 H. Lee Moffitt
2005 Deborah Pryce
2004 Harold P. Freeman, MD
2003 Lance Armstrong
2002 President George H.W. Bush and Barbara Bush
2001 Nancy Davenport-Ennis
2000 Senator Connie Mack
1998 Joseph Bailes, MD, FACP
1997 Sen. Edward M. Kennedy and Sen. Nancy L. Kassebaum-Baker
1996 Pearl Moore, RN, MN, FAAN
1995 Nancy Brinker
1994 Sen. John D. Rockefeller IV, and Sen. Carl Levin
1993 Samuel Hellman, MD
1992 Jerry Boyd
1991 Emil Frei III, MD
1990 Bernard Fisher, MD
1989 Jill Eikenberry
1988 John W. Yarbro, MD, PhD, and J. Gale Katterhagen, MD
1987 Robert W. Frelick, MD
1986 President Richard M. Nixon
1985 B.J. Kennedy, MD
1984 Senator Robert J. Dole
1983 Harold Amos, MD
1982 Bernard Fisher, MD
1981 Solomon Garb, MD
1980 Senator Birch E. Bayh
icon-star-20x20Clinical Research Award

The Clinical Research Award is presented annually to individuals whose research have significantly and positively impacted the oncology patient, family, and/or community that they serve.
2022 Carmen Guerra, MD, MSCE, FACP
2021 Richard L. Schilsky, MD, FACP, FSCT, FASCO
2020 Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD
2019 Ethan Basch, MD, MSc
2018 A. Ganz, MD
2017 Raymond U. Osarogiagbon, MBBS, FACP
2016 Michael O’Connell, MD
2015 Patricia Layton, RN, BSN
2014 Nicholas J. Petrelli, MD, FACS
2013 Paul F. Engstrom, MD
2012 Donna Berry, PhD, RN, AOCN®, FAAN
2011 Al B. Benson III, MD, FACP
2010 David S. Alberts, MD
2009 Charles M. Balch, MD
2008 Donald L. Morton, MD
2007 David H. Johnson, MD
2006 Lodovico Balducci, MD
2005 Charles L. Loprinzi, MD
2004 Carl G. Kardinal, MD
2003 Lillian M. Nail, PhD, RN, FAAN
2002 Daniel D. Von Hoff, MD, FACP
2001 G. Denman Hammond, MD, and Sharon B. Murphy, MD
2000 Saul Rivkin, MD
1999 Leslie G. Ford, MD
1998 James D. Cox, MD, FACR
1997 Betty Ferrell, RN, PhD, FAAN
1996 Henry Lynch, MD
1995 Rodger Winn, MD
1994 Drs. James and Jimmie Holland
1993 E. Donnell Thomas, MD
1992 Vincent DeVita, Jr, MD
1991 Lawrence H. Einhorn, MD
1990 Paul Carbone, MD
1989 No Awardee
1988 Charles A. Coltman, Jr, MD
1987 Charles G. Moertel, MD

icon-star-20x20David King Community Clinical Scientist Award

The David King Community Clinical Scientist Award recognizes active community clinical research leaders. Award winners have demonstrated leadership in the development, participation, and evaluation of clinical studies and/or are active in the development of new screening, risk assessment, treatment, or supportive care programs for cancer patients.
2022 Leana Chien, MSN, RN, GCNS-BC, GNP-BC
2021  B. Lee Green, PhD 
2020  Worta McCaskill-Stevens, MD, MS 
2019 Paul D. Hansen, MD, FACS
2018 James L. Wade III, MD, FACP, FASCO
2017 Sanford Health Clinical Research Team, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2016 Cary A. Presant, MD, FACP, FASCO
2015 Stuart L. Goldberg, MD, and Eric Lee Raefsky, MD (posthumous)
2014 John D. Powderly II, MD
2013 Patrick J. Flynn, MD
2012 Albert Brooks Einstein, Jr., MD
2011 Thomas M. Beck, MD
2010 Carl J. Minniti, Jr., MD
2009 James E. Radford, Jr., MD
2008 John Philip Kuebler, MD, PhD
2007 Richard C. Frank, MD; Stephen S. Grubbs, MD; Alan P. Lyss, MD
2006 In 2006 ACCC presented its first Community Clinical Scientist Award to James N. Atkins, MD; Luis Baez–Diaz, MD, FACP; and Lee B. Riley, MD, PhD, FACS. In 2007, the award was re-named as the David King Community Clinical Scientist Award.