In This Section


Doug Hutton
Director, Marketing


New Jersey Research Nurse Receives the ACCC 2015 Clinical Research Award

Patricia Layton, RN, BSN, Honored at the 32nd National Oncology Conference

ROCKVILLE, Md. – Patricia Layton, RN, BSN, was presented with the Association of Community Cancer Centers’ 2015 Clinical Research Award in recognition of her contributions to research that has significantly and positively impacted oncology patients, their families, and the community. ACCC President Steven D’Amato, BSPharm, BCOP, presented Ms. Layton with the award on Friday, October 23, 2015, at the 32nd National Oncology Conference, in Portland, Oregon.

Ms. Layton is a research nurse at the Cancer Center at Saint Barnabas Medical Center in Livingston, N.J. To this role, she brings more than 25 years of experience managing phase I–IV clinical trials across multiple therapeutic areas in the hospital and pharmaceutical industry settings. Her research experience has been focused in oncology, hematology, immunology, virology, and solid organ and bone marrow transplantation, and she has global clinical trial monitoring experience.

“I’ve been told that I’m tenacious when it comes to getting patients enrolled in clinical trials,” Ms. Layton said. “I’m honored and humbled to receive this award.” She expressed her gratitude for the staff and her colleagues at St. Barnabas Medical Center and accepted the award on their behalf.

Ms. Layton has co–developed investigator–initiated trials including studies assessing the caregiver burden on those caring for individuals with cancer and the impact of next generation sequencing testing on physician treatment recommendations in metastatic solid tumor patients. She has co–authored study results published in the Journal of Clinical Oncology and Transplantation Proceedings. Ms. Layton is a graduate of the Villanova University School of Nursing in Villanova, Pennsylvania.

The ACCC Clinical Research Award honors individuals whose research has positively impacted oncology patients, their families, and the community. Among the past winners of the prestigious annual ACCC Clinical Research Award are Nicholas J. Petrelli, MD, FACS; David S. Alberts, MD; Charles M. Balch, MD, FACS; Al B. Benson III, MD, FACP; Donna Berry, PhD, RN, AOCN®, FAAN; David H. Johnson, MD; Lillian M. Nail, PhD, RN, FAAN; Daniel D. Von Hoff, MD, FACP; Saul Rivkin, MD; Henry Lynch, MD; and Vincent DeVita, Jr., MD.

More information about the ACCC National Oncology Conference is available here.

About the Association of Cancer Care Centers

The Association of Cancer Care Centers (ACCC) is the leading education and advocacy organization for the cancer care community. Founded in 1974, ACCC is a powerful network of 40,000 multidisciplinary practitioners from 2,100 hospitals and practices nationwide. As advances in cancer screening and diagnosis, treatment options, and care delivery models continue to evolve - so has ACCC - adapting its resources to meet the changing needs of the entire oncology care team. For more information, visit Follow us on social media; read our blog, ACCCBuzz; tune in to our CANCER BUZZ podcast; and view our CANCER BUZZ TV channel.