In This Section

Home / National Oncology Conference / Past ACCC Award Recipients

Past ACCC Award Recipients


ACCC is proud to honor excellence in cancer care during the 34th National Oncology Conference, as we recognize the recipients of the 2017 Annual Achievement Award, Clinical Research Award, and the David King Community Clinical Scientist Award.


Annual Achievement Award

Since 1980, the Annual Achievement Award has been given to distinguished individuals or organizations who have reflected the values of community cancer care through their outstanding contributions.

Barbara L. McAneny

Barbara L. McAneny, MD, FASCO, MACP
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Barbara L. McAneny, MD, FASCO, MACP, is the first oncologist to be elected as President of the American Medical Association. An outstanding leader, Dr. McAneny has served as a member of the American Society of Clinical Oncology Board of Directors, president of the New Mexico Medical Society, president of the Greater Albuquerque Medical Association, and president of the New Mexico Chapter of the American College of Physicians.

In 2012 Dr. McAneny received a $19.8 million award from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation to test how oncology private practices could provide cancer patients better care at a lower cost. This award, called COME HOME (for Community Oncology Medical Home), later helped form Medicare’s Oncology Care Model. Innovative Oncology Business Solutions Inc., the company she created to manage the award, is now assisting physician practices, in collaboration with ASCO, in developing the process changes needed for MACRA.

Dr. McAneny chairs the board of the National Cancer Care Alliance, which she founded to help independent oncology practices remain independent by sharing resources and best practices. Appointed to the Practicing Physicians Advisory Council (2002 to 2006), she was a founding member of Oncology Circle, a group of oncology practices using data to promote best practices. Dr. McAneny is a member of the Community Oncology Alliance Board of Trustees and served on the board of directors of the Cancer Center Business Summit.

She co-founded New Mexico Oncology Hematology Consultants Ltd. in 1987. A managing partner since 1999, she built New Mexico Cancer Center, which provides outpatient medical and radiation oncology care and imaging in Albuquerque and the underserved area of Gallup. She also founded the New Mexico Cancer Center Foundation, which provides grants to help patients with non-medical expenses.

Dr. McAneny graduated with honors from the University of Iowa College of Medicine. She completed her residency in internal medicine at the University of Iowa and her fellowship in hematology/oncology at the University of New Mexico.


Clinical Research Award

The Clinical Research Award recognizes individuals whose research has significantly and positively impacted the oncology patient, family, or community.

Raymond U. Osarogiagbon

Raymond U. Osarogiagbon, MBBS, FACP
Director, Multidisciplinary Thoracic Oncology Program
Baptist Cancer Center, Memphis, Tennessee

As the Director of the Multidisciplinary Thoracic Oncology Program, Raymond U. Osarogiagbon, MBBS, FACP, is the dominant clinical oncology service provider in the demographically heterogeneous tri-state region of east Arkansas, north Mississippi, and west Tennessee, which has some of the highest lung cancer incidence rates in the United States.

He also serves as Director of the Thoracic Oncology Research (ThOR) Group of the Baptist Cancer Center, and is the principal investigator of two major ongoing regional projects: a U.S. National Institutes of Health R01-funded regional quality improvement project titled “Dissemination and Implementation of a Corrective Intervention to Improve Mediastinal Lymph Node Examination in Resected Lung Cancer” (R01 CA172253-01); and the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute-funded comparative effectiveness study of multidisciplinary vs. serial care for lung cancer titled “Building a Multidisciplinary Bridge Across the Quality Chasm in Thoracic Oncology” (IH-1304-6147).

Dr. Osarogiagbon's research interests center around improving population-based systems of care, improving accuracy of cancer staging, and evaluating the biologic drivers of outcome differences in potentially curable lung cancer. He is an ad hoc member of the Health Services Organization and Delivery study section of the U.S. National Institutes of Health and a member of the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer membership committee. Dr. Osarogiagbon is also the Lead Clinical Research Consultant for the Association of Community Cancer Centers (ACCC) Optimal Care Coordination Model for Lung Cancer Patients with Medicaid project.


David King Community Clinical Scientist Award

The David King Community Clinical Scientist Award recognizes active community clinical research leaders who have demonstrated leadership in the development, participation, and evaluation of clinical studies and/or are active in the development of new screening, risk assessment, treatment, or supportive care programs for cancer patients.

Sanford Health Clinical Research Team

Sanford Health Clinical Research Team
Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Sanford Health is an integrated health system headquartered in the Dakotas. It is the largest, rural, not-for-profit healthcare system in the nation with 45 hospitals and 289 clinics in 9 states and 3 countries. With more than 28,000 employees, including over 1,300 physicians in more than 80 specialty areas of medicine, Sanford Health is the largest employer in the Dakotas.

Sanford Health provides more than 350 ongoing clinical studies, 150 open clinical trials, and 24 open immunotherapy clinical trials that address 11 types of cancers.

“Sanford firmly believes that clinical trials are not only the way to deliver the most advanced care to its patients, they are also a critical vehicle to gather the data and evidence to form and direct the cancer treatments of tomorrow. Sanford continues to prioritize increasing accruals to clinical trials... [and] takes every opportunity to present to patients the potential benefits to clinical trial participation should they be eligible—both to themselves and to future patients. From Sanford’s navigators, who meet patients the first time they come into the center, to the nursing staff and physicians, Sanford advocates and educates regarding the importance of clinical research. This message is carried over into every multidisciplinary conference.”
Steven Powell, MD, Sanford Health

Key Clinical Research Team Members recognized:

  • Christie Ellison, BSN, OCN, CCRP, Project Manager, Oncology Research
  • Jeanne Litka, Clinical Research Coordinator
  • Sharon Hunt, MS, MBA, CMPE, Executive Director
ACCC 35rg National Oncology Conference