action

ACCC Welcomes Its Newest Member

St. Anthony Regional Hospital, Cancer Center

Carroll, Iowa Delegate Rep: Lori Pietig MHA, CT, RT(R)

Website: stanthonyhospital.org/services/cancer-oncology

"Click" Into the ACCC Legislative Action Center

No one knows better than ACCC members how policy changes and legislative action can positively (or negatively) impact the cancer care community. ACCC's Legislative Action Center is a one-stop-shop for sharing these critical perspectives with key policymakers—all with the click of a button.

Since launching the Legislative Action Center in August, members have sent more than 100 letters, and the top advocacy actions have focused on encouraging prior authorization reform to reduce delays in cancer care.

On Sept. 14, The Improving Seniors' Timely Access to Care Act (H.R. 3173) passed unanimously in the House of Representatives. ACCC members should encourage their U.S. senators to support the passage of the Senate version of this bill (S. 3018) before the end of the year by sending a letter through the Legislative Action Center.

Make your voice heard today at: accc-cancer.org/LAC2022.

Meet the ACCC 2022 Annual Award Recipients

Each year, ACCC confers several annual awards to recognize distinguished individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to cancer care. In 2022, the association was proud to honor three extraordinary cancer care professionals—and celebrate their accomplishments—at the ACCC 39th National Oncology Conference, Oct. 12–14, 2022.

The Annual Achievement Award

This ACCC award has been given since 1980 to distinguished individuals or organizations in a wide variety of fields, who have reflected the values of community cancer care through their outstanding contributions. This year's Annual Achievement Award recipient, Lola Fashoyin-Aje, MD, MPH, is a medical oncologist and deputy director in the Division of Oncology 3 in the Office of Oncologic Diseases at the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). In this role, Dr. Fashoyin-Aje provides scientific and policy guidance and oversight to the multidisciplinary teams who review drugs and biologics under development for the treatment of solid tumor malignancies. Dr. Fashoyin-Aje is also an associate director at the FDA's Oncology Center of Excellence, leading scientific and policy initiatives to address disparities and other regulatory science issues in oncology drug development.



The Clinical Research Award

This ACCC award recognizes individuals whose research has significantly and positively impacted the oncology patient, family, and/or community. This year's recipient, Carmen Guerra, MD, MSCE, FACP, is the Ruth C. and Raymond G. Perelman professor of medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Guerra is a general internist and cancer equity researcher. She is also the vice chair of Diversity and Inclusion for the Department of Medicine and the associate director of Diversity and Outreach for the Abramson Cancer Center.

Dr. Guerra's research has focused on developing and evaluating interventions to increase the participation of underserved populations in cancer screenings and cancer clinical trials. She implemented the National Cancer Institute's colorectal cancer "Screen to Save" program and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program, mobile mammography, and a drive-through "Flu-FIT" program in partnership with Philadelphia's Black churches. These programs have engaged thousands of underserved and diverse residents in cancer screenings. Dr. Guerra established programs to increase participation of Black patients in cancer clinical trials, including a peer-to-peer cancer clinical trials ambassador program and the "Lazarex Improving Patient Access to Cancer Clinical Trials" program, a financial reimbursement program for patients participating in cancer treatment trials.



She co-chaired two ASCO-ACCC work groups that developed an implicit bias training and site self-assessment tool for cancer research teams and authored the ASCO-ACCC research statement "Increasing Racial and Ethnic Diversity in Cancer Clinical Trials."

The David King Community Clinical Scientist Award

This ACCC award recognizes active community clinical research leaders. Award winners have demonstrated leadership in the development, participation, and evaluation of clinical studies and/or are active in the development of new screening, risk assessment, treatment, or supportive care programs for patients with cancer. This prestigious award is named after David K. King, MD, FACP, an ACCC past president, who died after a brief battle with cancer. Dr. King spent his entire career caring for individuals with cancer and advocating for access to quality care, while also championing the Community Clinical Oncology Program and the value of clinical research in the community setting.

This year's recipient, Leana Cabrera Chien, MSN, RN, GCNS-BC, GNP-BC, is a nurse practitioner at the City of Hope Center for Cancer and Aging in Duarte, Calif. In 2019, with two advanced practice nursing colleagues, Chien developed and launched an advanced practice nurse geriatric oncology clinic called the Aging Wellness Clinic. In this clinic, a team of advanced practice nurses provide a holistic approach to wellness, offering specialized care for older adults with cancer.



Additionally, through a UniHealth grant, Chien offers telemedicine services to a rural community site to create a model of care for older adults with cancer via telemedicine.

Through a Pfizer grant, Chien co-leads a program to evaluate geriatric oral adherence and longevity surveillance for older adults with metastatic cancer.

Chien is an active participant in the ACCC "Multidisciplinary Approaches to Caring for Older Adults with Cancer" program, serving as faculty for several webinars, including the recent "Digital Bridges: Telehealth Solutions for Older Adults."