ACCC logo
Facebook  LinkedIn  Twitter  ACCC Youtube Channel  ACCCBuzz blog

Association of Community Cancer Centers

The leading education and advocacy organization for the multidisciplinary cancer team

ACCCBuzz Blog  Find a Cancer Program  Log in to MyNetwork

Home > Mediaroom > Press Releases > 2007 > Association of Community Cancer Centers to Honor Tennessee Oncologist and Researcher David H. Johnson, MD

Lori Gardner, Senior Director
Communications & Marketing
301.984.9496 ext. 226

ACCC News Release

For Immediate Release: September 20, 2007

Association of Community Cancer Centers to Honor Tennessee Oncologist and Researcher David H. Johnson, MD

ROCKVILLE, Md.—David H. Johnson, MD, will be honored with the Association of Community Cancer Centers’ annual Clinical Research Award. Dr. Johnson is director, Division of Hematology/Oncology, at Vanderbilt University Medical School in Nashville, Tenn., and deputy director of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center. He will be honored for his extensive research, leadership, and commitment to individuals with lung and breast cancers.

Dr. Johnson will receive the award at ACCC’s 24th National Oncology Economics Conference on Thursday, October 4, 2007, in Dallas, Texas. ACCC’s Clinical Research Award is given to an individual whose research has significantly and positively impacted the oncology patient, family, and community.

Dr. Johnson’s clinical research interests are focused mainly on the management of thoracic malignancies and experimental therapeutics. He is co-principal investigator of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center’s Lung Cancer Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) grant. From 1988 through 2003, he served as chairman of the Thoracic Oncology Committee of the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG). Under his leadership a number of important clinical trials were undertaken within ECOG, including most recently the pivotal study that led to the FDA approval of bevacizumab (Avastin) in non-small cell lung cancer.

Dr. Johnson has served on many national committees related to patient care, education, and research: the NCI Clinical Trials Program Review Group, the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Clinical Trials Implementation Committee, the NCI Lung Cancer Progress Review Group, the NCI Clinical Oncology Study Section, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration Oncologic Drug Advisory Committee, and the American College of Physicians MKSAP-II Oncology Committee. He is the author of more than 350 peer-reviewed articles, reviews, and book chapters, and is a member of several editorial advisory boards.

Actively involved in numerous professional associations, including the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), he served as ASCO president, 2004-2005. He is a member of the board of directors at the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer and the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN). Dr. Johnson has been listed as one of the “top doctors” in the nation in America’s Top Doctors rankings.

About the Association of Community Cancer Centers
The Association of Community Cancer Centers (ACCC) is the leading advocacy and education organization for the multidisciplinary cancer care team. More than 23,000 cancer care professionals from over 2,000 hospitals and practices nationwide are affiliated with ACCC. It is estimated that 65 percent of the nation's cancer patients are treated by a member of ACCC. Providing a national forum for addressing issues that affect community cancer programs, ACCC is recognized as the premier provider of resources for the entire oncology care team. Our members include medical and radiation oncologists, surgeons, cancer program administrators and medical directors, senior hospital executives, practice managers, pharmacists, oncology nurses, radiation therapists, social workers, and cancer program data managers. For more information, visit ACCC's website at Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and read our blog, ACCCBuzz.

Copyright © 2017 Association of Community Cancer Centers. All Rights Reserved.
1801 Research Boulevard, Suite 400, Rockville, MD 20850  |  Tel.: 301.984.9496  |  Fax: 301.770.1949